Modern, masterfully produced
and with a touch of glamour

The name Swarovski has been synonymous with inventiveness, poetry and technical expertise for over 120 years. Its passion for perfection and constant innovation are what make the company the world’s leading brand for cut crystal, synthetic and real gemstones, and other refined products.

The founder Daniel Swarovski

The founder of the company, Daniel Swarovski (1862-1956), was a scientist and visionary, an entrepreneur and a humanist. Born and raised in the Bohemian village of Gablonz (now Jablonec nad Nisou), he helped his father from an early age with the production of hand-polished crystals for the region’s fashion and jewellery industry.

The origins of the crystal in Wattens/Austria

In 1895, Daniel Swarovski took his family to Wattens, where he set up the now world-famous Swarovski company. The remote Tyrolean village had two crucial advantages: On the one hand Daniel Swarovski could protect his invention from the prying eyes of competitors; on the other, the abundant supply of hydroelectric power provided him with all the electricity he needed. The new Swarovski crystals, known at that time by the name “Pierres Taillées du Tyrol”, changed the industry for good. Such brilliance, translucency and purity had never been seen before. Swarovski was soon working closely with big names of the Parisian fashion scene such as Chanel and Elsa Schiaparelli, who enjoyed frequent visits to the small Austrian company. Thus began a long history of intensive creative collaboration with the fashion world which continues to this day.

Swarovski and the art of crystal

Led by a spirit of innovation and the aspiration to achieve perfection, Swarovski decided in 1989 to create its own product line. With their brilliance and precision, the products inspire designers of everything from fashion to jewellery and interiors. The sparkling crystals, which come in every colour, are also used in architecture and lighting design. Swarovski crystals are now considered indispensable elements in the creations of international designers.

Vision for the future

The founder, Daniel Swarovski, constantly aspired to improve the quality of his products. It is with this imperative in view that the vision and long-term prospects for the Crystal division lie in a further expansion of global market leadership in the manufacture of precision-cut crystals and other finished products, coupled with reinforcement of its already strong position in the jewellery industry.

Modern, meisterhaft gefertigt
und mit einem Hauch von Glamour

Seit über 120 Jahren steht der Name Swarovski für Ideenreichtum, Poesie und technisches Know-how. Seine Leidenschaft für Perfektion und ständige Innovation macht das Unternehmen zur weltweit führenden Marke für geschliffenes Kristall, synthetische und echte Edelsteine, und weiter veredelte Produkte.

Der Gründer Daniel Swarovski

Der Gründer des Unternehmens, Daniel Swarovski (1862 – 1956), war Wissenschaftler und Visionär, Unternehmer und Humanist. Aufgewachsen im böhmischen Dorf Gablonz half er seinem Vater schon von klein auf, handgeschliffene Kristalle für die Mode- und Schmuckindustrie der Region zu fertigen.

Die Ursprünge des Kristalls in Wattens/Österreich

Im Jahr 1895 zog Daniel Swarovski mit seiner Familie nach Wattens, um dort das heute weltbekannte Unternehmen Swarovski zu gründen. Das abseits gelegene Tiroler Dorf hatte zwei entscheidende Vorteile: Einerseits konnte Daniel Swarovski hier seine Erfindung vor den neugierigen Augen der Konkurrenz schützen, andererseits versorgte ihn die reichlich vorhandene Wasserkraft mit der benötigten Elektrizität. Die neuen Swarovski Kristalle, damals bekannt unter dem Namen „Pierres Taillées du Tyrol“, veränderten die Industrie nachhaltig. Eine derartige Brillanz, Transparenz und Reinheit hatte man bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt nicht gekannt. Schon bald arbeitete Swarovski eng mit den großen Namen der Pariser Modeszene wie Coco Chanel oder Elsa Schiaparelli zusammen, die das kleine österreichische Unternehmen gern und häufig besuchten. So begann eine lange Geschichte intensiver kreativer Zusammenarbeit mit der Modewelt, die heute fortgeführt wird.

Swarovski und die Kristallkunst

Geleitet von Innovationsfreude und dem Anspruch auf Perfektion, entschied sich Swarovski 1989, eine eigene Produktlinie zu kreieren. Mit ihrer Brillanz und Präzision inspirieren sie nicht nur Modedesigner, sondern auch Schmuck- und Innenraumgestalter. Auch in der Architektur und Lichtplanung kommen die in allen Farben funkelnden Kristalle zum Einsatz. Swarovski Kristalle gelten mittlerweile als unverzichtbare Elemente für die Kreationen internationaler Designer.

Vision für die Zukunft

Der Gründer, Daniel Swarovski, war stets bemüht, das Gute zu verbessern. In diesem Sinne ist die Vision und langfristige Perspektive für den Geschäftsbereich Kristall ein weiterer Ausbau der globalen Marktführerschaft in der Herstellung von präzisions-geschliffenen Kristallen und weiterveredelten Produkten sowie der starken Position in der Schmuckbranche.